Destination: Lost

Get travelling. Get reading. Get lost.

The Next Trip: Tucan Travel Cancun to San Jose

Leave a comment

I was incredibly lucky to win a £2000 voucher for Tucan Travel in a prize draw they ran last summer. I must stress that from age 17 until now, I have entered nearly every travel competition I have seen. Seriously, the amount of junk email I am sent from companies I once entered a competition with is ridiculous. Not that it effects your levels of luck but you have to be in it to win it, right?

Map of Central America

After much deliberation (cost vs. included activities vs. time vs. amount of countries vs. flight price etc.), I settled on a 32 day tour from Cancun, Mexico to San Jose, Costa Rica. It takes in 5 countries so it’s a bit of a whistle-stop tour which I have never experienced before. I’ve always been one of the travel slowly camp, so this is going to be interesting and might push me out of my travelling comfort zone. However, I wanted to get the most for my (free) money and I’m certainly going to see a lot on this tour.

Caye Caulker Belize

I’ve added an extra night to the beginning of my tour as I had credit left on the voucher. Tucan Travel tours typically only spend one day in the arrival and departure cities so whilst I didn’t have to pay for it myself, I thought it would be more relaxing to spend an extra night in Cancun to work off the jet lag. My flights were also cheaper,  I was actually quite impressed that after only a week of searching I found flights for around £150 less than I had originally seen. I bought an open-jaw flight from http://www.lastminute.com flying direct Gatwick to Cancun with BA and flying back from San Jose to Madrid with Iberia, then to Heathrow. I’m a little worried about the Iberia flights as I know the planes they use don’t have seat-back televisions and as it’s a night flight I doubt they will be showing much on the above head screens. I’m an awful sleeper when travelling so let’s hope the person sitting next to me is understanding as I will probably have to read with the light on for the whole 11 hours.

Bring on the 20th of June!

Author: Kirstie

A 23 year old day dreamer. I don't think the travel bug ever bit me, I think it was passed down in my genes.

Got something to say? Go on, leave a reply!

